Bishop Linda Nicholls appointed the Rev’d Matthew Kieswetter as Deacon in Charge of St. Andrew’s Memorial Church, Kitchener effective December 1. Matt was formerly the Deacon Assistant to the Rector of St. John the Evangelist, Kitchener. Upon ordination on December 6, 2016 Matthew became Priest-in-Charge of St. Andrew’s.

Bishop Linda Nicholls appointed Ms. Lisa Poultney as Lay Pastor in Charge of St. Andrew Memorial Church, London effective December 1, 2016. Upon ordination on December 8, Lisa became the Deacon-in-Charge.

Bishop Linda Nicholls appoints the Rev’d Paul Poolton as Rector of St. Augustine’s, Windsor effective February 1, 2017. Paul is currently the rector of Church of the Redeemer, Colchester North and St. Stephen’s, Oldcastle.


The Bishop of Huron announced that: the following were ordained to the priesthood at a service of Ordination held on the Commemoration of Nicholas, Bishop of Myra, December 6, 2016 at St. James’, Westminster, London.

The Rev’d Shaun Eaton, upon priesting, Priest-in-Charge of the Parish of the Holy Spirit (St. Paul’s, Clinton and St. Thomas’, Seaforth).

The Rev’d Matthew Kieswetter, upon priesting, Priest-in-Charge of St. Andrew’s Memorial, Kitchener.

The Rev’d Mark Sceviour, the Assistant Curate to the Rector of the Anglican Parishes of Chatham.

The Bishop of Huron announced that: the following were ordained to the diaconate at a service of Ordination held on the Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, December 8, 2016 in Trivitt Memorial Church, Exeter.

Mr. Stephen Greene, upon ordination, Assistant Curate to the Rector of the Regional Ministry of South Huron (St. Anne’s, Port Franks, St. John’s-by-the-Lake, Grand Bend and Trivitt Memorial, Exeter).

Ms. Lisa Poultney, upon ordination, Deacon-in-Charge of St. Andrew Memorial, London.


On the day of her Welcome and Seating as the 13th Bishop of Huron, the Right Reverend Linda Nicholls announced the following appointments, effective November 1, 2016:

Chaplain to the Anglican Church Women:  The Rev’d Patricia Allison

Anglican Fellowship of Prayer Diocesan Representative: The Rev’d Valerie Kenyon

Chaplain to the Brotherhood of Anglican Churchmen: The Rev’d Christopher Travers

Territorial Archdeacons:

Brant/Norfolk and Oxford:  The Ven. Janet Griffith-Clarke

Delaware: The Ven. Nancy Adams

Essex: The Ven. Jane Humphreys

Huron/Perth: The Ven. Allan Livingstone

Lambton/Kent: The Ven. Paul Millward

London: The Ven. Sam Thomas

Saugeens: The Ven. Graham Bland

Waterloo: The Ven. Greg Jenkins

Non-territorial Archdeacons:

Archdeacon for Congregational Development: The Ven. Perry Chuipka

Archdeacon of Huron and Executive Archdeacon: The Ven. Tanya Phibbs

Director for Mission and Ministry: The Ven. William Harrison

Canon of the Bishop’s Household: Canon Paul Rathbone

Co-chairs of College of Deacons: The Rev’d Canon Ken Brooks and the Rev’d Canon Gerry Adam

Chancellor: Canon James Ferguson

Vice-Chancellor: Mr. Christopher Sinal

Diocesan Ecumenical Officer: The Rev’d Stephen Berryman

Diocesan Liturgical Officer: The Rev’d Dr. Lizette Larson-Miller

Domestic Chaplains: The Rev’d Meghan Nicholls and the Rev’d Dr. Stephen McClatchie

Chaplain to Licensed Lay Readers: The Rev’d Robert Clifford

Social Media Officer: The Rev’d Marty Levesque

Chaplains to Youth: The Rev’d Sharla Malliff and Mr. Stephen Greene

Canons with Title

Canon Historian: The Rev’d Canon Dr.  Doug Leighton

Canon Missioner: The Rev’d Canon Vicars Hodge

Canon Pastor: The Rev’d Canon Marian Haggerty

Canon Theologian: The Rev’d Canon Dr. Todd Townshend


Bishop Linda Nicholls has accepted the resignation of the Rev’d Dr. Rishi Sativihari as rector of St. James’, St. Marys, effective January 31, 2017 to concentrate on his academic studies and writing.  Effective February 1, 2017, Rishi will have a General Permit of the Bishop.

Congratulations – Wedding

On November 4, Rev’d Kristen Aikman (nee Oliver) and Jeffrey Aikman were married.  Congratulations and best wishes are extended to the happy couple.

Rest in Peace

The Rev’d Grace Coleman-Anthony died on November 8, 2016 (wife of Bill Anthony). Grace was ordained a deacon on May 5, 1996 and priested on November 28 of that year. She served the parishes of St. Stephen’s, Mitchell Bay and St. Paul’s, Point Edward. She served as Regional Dean of Kent, Regional Dean of Lambton and was a member of the Diocesan Sexual Assault Response Team, the Bishop’s Clergy Conference Planning Committee, the Safe Church Committee and was a member of the executive of the diocesan Anglican Fellowship of Prayer.  During her retirement, she served for a time in the Diocese of Brandon. A funeral service was held on December 10 at St. James Church, Wallaceburg.

Ms. Erin Dance aged 35, daughter of Bishop Terry and Diane Dance died on Friday, December 2. She will be lovingly remembered by her fiancé JW Tatum, her parents, her brother Jason and his wife Ashley and their son Lion, Grandfather Don Hampson and his wife Ann.  A funeral was held on December 7 at St. John the Evangelist Church, London.