Huron’s Electoral Procedures Committee announces the names of the candidates nominated by the Diocesan Council

Diocesan Banner with the Coat of Arms

August 12, 2019


We, the members of the Diocese of Huron’s Electoral Procedures Committee (the “EPC”), are pleased to announce the names of those candidates for the upcoming Episcopal election, nominated by the Diocesan Council, as well as to provide an initial outline of the process by which the Diocese will select the next Bishop of Huron.

The Diocese’s Constitution tasks the EPC with administering the election (and process leading up to it) that will take place at the Electoral Synod to be held on October 26, 2019.

The process began with the nomination of candidates by the Diocesan Council. The Diocesan Council proposed its nominees in a secret ballot at its meeting on July 27, 2019, and the following candidates (in alphabetical order) have indicated their willingness to stand for election:

The Venerable Dr. Timothy Dobbin
The Very Reverend Paul Millward
The Venerable Tanya Phibbs
The Reverend Canon Dr. Todd Townshend

At its July 27 meeting, the Diocesan Council also requested the names of potential candidates from the House of Bishops, as is permitted by the Constitution. In the event that the House proposes any candidates who are willing to stand for election, the EPC will promptly release their names as well.

Further information (biographies, photos, etc) of all the candidates will be posted as soon as possible and communicated through the Diocesan website at (go to Diocesan>Episcopal Election), various social media accounts, as well as via email and letter to the Deaneries.

We also wish to take this opportunity to formally invite members of the Diocese, and its Deanery Councils, to propose questions for the candidates. We ask that all questions be submitted to the EPC at [email protected] by no later than August 26, 2019. The EPC will then compile a final list of questions, provide them to the candidates, and publish the answers to those questions in a variety of media so that they are available to as many members of the Diocese as possible.

We also hope to organize one or more “meet the candidates” events; details of these meetings will be arranged as soon as possible.

Finally, please note that the Diocese’s Constitution allows for further nominations
of candidates from any five members of Synod. Such nominations, along with the written consent of the nominee to stand for election, must be received by the Vice Chancellor of the Diocese (either via mail sent to Church House or email sent to [email protected]) before October 16, 2019.

We will release further information as soon as it is available. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact the EPC.

Sincerely Yours,

Christopher Sinal, Dr. Gail Cuthbert Brandt, Scott Saunders, The Rev’d Kristen Aikman, The Rev’d Robert Clifford, The Rev’d Canon Valerie Kenyon